National History

Alpha Phi Alpha, the first intercollegiate Greek-letter fraternity established for African American Men, was founded at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York by seven college men who recognized the need for a strong bond of brotherhood among African descendants in this country. The visionary founders, known as the “Jewels” of the fraternity, are Henry Arthur Callis, Charles Henry Chapman, Eugene Kinckle Jones, George Biddle Kelley, Nathaniel Allison Murray, Robert Harold Ogle, and Vertner Woodson Tandy.

The fraternity initially served as a study and support group for minority students who faced racial prejudice, both educationally and socially, at Cornell. The Jewel founders and early leaders of the fraternity succeeded in laying a firm foundation for Alpha Phi Alpha's principles of scholarship, fellowship, good character, and the uplifting of humanity.

Alpha Phi Alpha chapters were established at other colleges and universities, many of them historically black institutions, soon after the founding at Cornell. The first alumni chapter was established in 1911. While continuing to stress academic excellence among its members, Alpha also recognized the need to help correct the educational, economic, political, and social injustices faced by African Americans. Alpha Phi Alpha has long stood at the forefront of the African-American community's fight for civil rights through leaders such as W.E.B. DuBois, Adam Clayton Powell, Jr., Edward Brooke, Martin Luther King, Jr., Thurgood Marshall, Andrew Young, William Gray, Paul Robeson, and many others. True to its form as the “first of firsts,” Alpha Phi Alpha has been interracial since 1945.

Since its founding on December 4, 1906, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. has supplied voice and vision to the struggle of African Americans and people of color around the world.




Omicron Nu Lambda Chapter History

The Omicron Nu Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi AlphaFraternity, Inc. was founded in Ratcliff/Fort Knox KY on April 8, 1986.  The gentlemen who brought the "Light of Alpha" to this area of Kentucky were Leroy Graham, Jeffrey Holden, Victor Holman, Edwin Lloyd, Robert Shields, Harold Tucker, Williams Turner, Carl Tyson, Lawrence Wilkerson, and Grandvial Zurich.

Through the seed that was planted, the Omicron Nu Lambda Chapter has producedprominent Alpha men with a continued focus of developing leaders, promoting higher education and providing service to our communities.  The Omicron Nu Lambda Chapter has a strong legacy of Brothers in a variety of professions from education, to politics, and entrepreneurs.

Since its inception, ONL has initiated several community service projects: Bowl for Kid's Sake/Big Brothers Big Sisters, Boys to Men Program, and March of Dimes Fundraiser.  We also participate in all National Fraternity programs such as Go-to-High School/Go-to-College Scholarship Program.